Valentina Kozlova International Ballet Competition Dates & Judges Announced

valentina-kozlova[New York, NY] – Valentina Kozlova announces the next Kozlova International Ballet Competition (VKIBC), May 28-30 at Symphony Space, Broadway & 95th Street, New York City. The event will consist of two days of ballet competition, with a round for contemporary choreography, performed by talented young dancers from around the world. Four groups of entrants will be presented: youth, students, juniors, and seniors, all competing with variations and duets from Swan Lake, Sleeping Beauty, Coppelia, Raymonda, Paquita, and other classics, selected from the list provided by VKIBC.

Prizes include positions with companies and scholarships to schools in the U.S., Argentina, Portugal, Brazil, Romania, Canada, France, and more, along with cash prizes, costumes, and other awards. (complete list of awards will be announced soon.)

VKIBC was founded to allow student and professional dancers an opportunity to perform and compete in a positive and encouraging atmosphere before a distinguished panel of international judges.

The 2015 Jury:
Violette Verdy, Honorary Chairman
Mikko Nissinen, Honorary Chairman
Andris Liepa, Chairman of the Judges, People’s Artist of Russia, principal dancer with the Bolshoi Ballet, guest with New York City Ballet and American Ballet Theatre
Tracy Inman, President of the Jury for Contemporary Dances, Co-Director, Alvin Ailey School, NYC
Deborah Hess (Canada), Coordinator of student exchanges, National Ballet School
Zhirui (Regina) Zou (China), Executive Director/President of the Ballet Department of Beijing Dance Academy
Miriam Messa Pelly (Cuba), former 25-year member of National Ballet of Cuba, currently faculty member at the South Carolina Governor’s School for the Arts
Frank Andersen (Denmark), Commander of the Danish Dannebrog Order. Former Artistic Director of the Royal Danish Ballet and the Royal Swedish Ballet
Bruno Agati (France), director/choreographer/dancer/actor, founder and Artistic Director of “Why Not Dance Company” (jazz ensemble)
Nina Buisson (France), international Contemporary Dance Master Teacher and choreographer
Alexandre Proia (France), former soloist with NYCB, currently Artistic Director of The Georgia Ballet in Marietta
Nina Ananiashvili (Georgia), principal dancer with the Bolshoi Ballet, guest with New York City Ballet and American Ballet Theatre
Oleksi Bessmertni (Germany), founder/director of the International Dance Festival TANZOLYMP
Jan Broeckx (Germany), director of Ballet-Academy University of Music and Performing Arts in Munich
Patricia Aulestia (Mexico), active in South America as teacher, researcher, choreographer, panelist, leader in several dance organizations
Olga Guardia de Smoak (Panama), Artistic Advisor to the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Panama, President of the New Orleans Int’l Ballet Conference
Pedro Carneiro (Portugal), director of National Conservatory Dance School in Lisbon
Sergei Soloviev (Russia), former member of the Bolshoi Ballet; since 1997 teacher at Conservatoire National Superieur de Musique et de Danse in Paris
Hae Shik Kim (South Korea), former principal with the Korean National Ballet, and Founding Dean of the Korean National University of Arts, School of Dance
Sun Hee Kim (South Korea), Professor, Korea National University of Arts, School of Dance
Jeon Mi Sook (South Korea), international choreographer and dance educator
Jelko Yuresha (U.K.), originally from Croatia, dancer/teacher/choreographer, former member of the English National Ballet, stager of ballets by Anton Dolin
Charles Askegard (USA), former soloist with American Ballet Theatre, former principal with New York City Ballet
Jacqulyn Buglisi (USA), former principal with Martha Graham Dance Company, Artistic Director/Choreographer of Buglisi Dance Theatre
Hiller Huhn (USA), ballet master and regisseur, has worked for American Ballet Theatre, the Joffrey Ballet, National Ballet of Canada, and many others
Radenio Pavlovich (USA), originally from Sarajevo, director of the Columbia Classical Ballet in South Carolina
Shelly Power (USA), former dancer with Houston Ballet, currently Director of Houston Ballet Academy
Lawrence Rhodes (USA), Artistic Director of the Juilliard Dance Division since 2002
Margo Sappington (USA), freelance choreographer and artistic director of American Dance Machine
Septime Webre (USA), Artistic Director of The Washington Ballet since 1999.

Advisory Board:
Violette Verdy, former principal with NYCB, currently Distinguished Professor of Ballet at Indiana University
Mikko Nissinen, Artistic Director, Boston Ballet
Charles Askegard
Patricia Aulestia
Maxim Beloserkovsky, former principal with ABT
Irina Dvorovenko, former principal with ABT
Carmen Mier, Artistic Director of VKIBC’s first New Orleans Semi Final
Marek Rozycki, Deputy Artistic Director of Berlin State Ballet School
Martine Van Hamel, former principal with ABT
Jelko Yuresha.

Valentina Kozlova International Ballet Competition

(Photo of Valentina Kozlova by Yelena Yeva)


The DanceLand account is used for press releases, guest posts and other material not written by staff members.