National Ballet Of Canada Principal Dancer Harrison James Receives Rolex Dancers First Award

Meet a Dancer: Harrison James (2017)

(Toronto) – Karen Kain, Artistic Director of The National Ballet of Canada announced today that Principal Dancer Harrison James is the recipient of the 2019 Rolex Dancers First Award. The award was presented by Ms. Kain and Maxim Lamarre, President and CEO, Rolex Canada Ltd., at a dinner and presentation in Toronto last night.

The Rolex Dancers First Award recognizes outstanding performances in the previous season and is juried by a committee of members of the National Ballet’s Artistic Staff. Mr. James was recognized for the dramatic power, impeccable technique, intense musicality and artistic authenticity in his outstanding performances as Alexei Vronsky in Anna Karenina, Oberon in The Dream and the title role in Apollo. At the ceremony, Mr. James was presented with a specially engraved Rolex watch.

Lollapalooza – Jillian Vanstone y Harrison James – Gala Internacional de Ballet 2018

For More On Harrison James: Biography

Mr. James will appear onstage with the National Ballet in Giselle which opens the National Ballet’s 2019/20 season in Toronto, November 6 – 10, 2019.

For More Information: About Giselle

Man in Flight (2017)

The Dancers First programme supports all the dancers of the National Ballet with funds for artistic development and health and wellness resources. Currently, there are 31 dancers generously sponsored through Dancers First.

Since its inception, Rolex has encouraged individual excellence and the pursuit of perfection. In keeping with this long tradition, Rolex continues to contribute to the arts world through its various sponsorship activities. Rolex Canada has generously sponsored the Rolex Dancers First Award since 2010.

The Rolex Dancers First Award is generously sponsored by Rolex Canada Ltd.

Harrison James is sponsored through Dancers First by Lucy White.

Press Release Via: The National Ballet of Canada


The DanceLand account is used for press releases, guest posts and other material not written by staff members.